Just another WordPress.com weblog

So, as many of you know from my facebook status lately, Chris and I have been on the South Beach Diet for the last week.  Yesterday, I made one of the soup recipes from the book, and I just HAVE to share it.  It is so good!  In The South Beach Diet Super Charged, it is called Creamy Cauliflower Soup, but really it should be called “I can’t believe it’s not potato soup”.  What was that?  Did I just hear a gasp of horror from readers?  Trust me, I know how many of you feel about that strangely pale vegetable commonly know as cauliflower.  My husband says that cauliflower is broccoli with all the life sucked out of it, but even he loved this soup.  Every time I make a new recipe from the book, I wait for a “thumbs up or thumbs down” from my sweet hubby, so I know if I can make it again while we continue this diet.  He said he wouldn’t mind eating this soup even if we were not on a diet!  It is so yummy.  I wish I could somehow imbue my blog with the scents of it.  It satisfies that “comfort food” quality that is often missing with this type of diet change – creamy and rich.   I’m posting the recipe here, and I really encourage you to give it a try.

Creamy Caulifower Soup (aka I Can’t Believe It’s Not Potato Soup)

  • 1 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 (2 lb.) head of cauliflower, cut into florets, along with the finely chopped stems
  • 4 c. reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/4 c. reduced-fat sour cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • salt
  • pepper
  • shredded cheese (not in the recipe, but I added just a little on top when served)

In a medium saucepan, heat EVOO over medium heat.  Add onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 5 minutes. Add cauliflower.  Cover and cook 5 minutes. Add chicken broth and bring to a simmer.  Cook until the cauliflower is tender, about 15 minutes. Transfer soup in batches to a blender and puree until smooth. Return to the saucepan and whisk in the sour cream and nutmeg.  Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve hot.

Enjoy!

Comments on: "Delicious “potato soup” recipe" (5)

  1. Sounds yummy, just a couple of questions. How many servings is this? Did the kids like it and how many cals per serving? Thanks girl, love ya 🙂

  2. Good questions. It makes four generous servings. I didn’t serve it to the kids, but only because it is our “diet” food, and it is taking me a lot of work and expense to maintain just for us. I wanted to use the additional servings for lunch today. Liberty did “mooch” several bites from Chris last night, and I think the boys would like it. They have eaten my “real” potato soup before.

    I’m not sure of the calorie count. It is not listed on this particular recipe, but on the meal plan it is an optional side served with a main dish salad (large with a protien like chicken or fish). Other than the olive oil and the sour cream, the ingredients are VERY low calorie, so I’m can’t imagine it is over 200 calories per serving…

  3. Oh, and if you are going to serve it to the kids, I would get even more “crazy” with the toppings/mix-ins. Add a little dollop of sour cream on top (if they like it), and along with the shredded cheese, sprinkle some cooked crumbled bacon, and even some chopped green onions. Then you can call it “loaded” potato soup. 😉

  4. Hannah Owens said:

    Thanks for this recipe.I am making it tonite.Aunt Hannah

  5. You’re welcome, Aunt Hannah. Happy to share it. I hate to let a good recipe go to waste. 😉

Leave a Reply

